Thomas Duncan Hall, Inc.

2011 Photo Contest Results




Girvan Award Winner "Welcome" by Genevieve Borden


The winners of the 2011 Third Annual Duncan Hall Photo Contest have been announced. The Girvan Award, for a photo of Duncan Hall called “Welcome”was won by Genevieve Borden. The Executive Director Choice Award, also a photo of the hall, called “Onward and Upward” was won by Cary Rush. Honorable mentions went to Nita Thelen and Jake Moore.


The Executive Director Choice Award, also a photo of the hall, called “Onward and Upward” was won by Cary Rush

In the General Category, First Prize was won by Elizabeth Hendrickson. Her photo was of striking deep pink flowers on a black background. Second Prize was won by Dylan Pearson, Third prize went to Dave Trent. Honorable mentions went to Logan Moore, Nita Thelen and Kyle Barton.


In the General Category First Prize, "Orchids on Parade",  was won by Elizabeth Hendrickson


The contest was sponsored by the Jim Alkire Band with Aura Lee.



Entry Form and Rules            2010 Results              2009 Results

Thomas Duncan Hall, 619 Ferry St., in Downtown Lafayette has been a source of fascination and inspiration to photographers for over eighty years. To continue that great tradition, amateur and professional photographers of all ages are invited to enter the Third Annual Duncan Hall Photo Contest. Ist , 2nd and 3rd prizes include gift certificates to fine local restaurants as well as photographic prints from Color Tech.

Photographers are required to pick up their official entry forms and envelopes at Duncan Sunday, May 1 from 12pm to 5 pm. At that time they may photograph the Duncan Hall building and grounds in order to be eligible to win the crystal Girvan Award or the new Executive Director’s Choice Award.

Participants are asked to return up to three 8x10” photographs of any subject and the $10.00 entry fee to Duncan Hall on Thursday, May 12 from 10am to 6pm.

Winners will be announced on Thursday, May 19. All decisions are final.

For complete Rules and Regulations, please go to The contest is sponsored by The Jim Alkire Band with Aura Lee and Tim Clark of Intac Management Group.